Haney vs Diaz results, live blog, main event, undercard

Undefeated WBC lightweight champion Devin Haney defends his belt against interim champion and former IBF super featherweight title holder Joseph “JoJo” Diaz Jr live broadcast on DAZN at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, NV on Saturday December 4th. The date the fight will be broadcast live in the UK and Australia is Sunday, December 5th.

Advertisement

Haney (26-0, 15 KOs) makes his fourth title defense after managing to retain his belt by unanimous decision against Jorge Linares, Yuriorkis Gamboa and Alfredo Santiago. “JoJo” Diaz (32-1-1, 15 KOs) secured the provisional strap by unanimous decision against Javier Fortuna, after battling for a majority draw with Shavkat Rakhimov and taking a unanimous decision against Tevin Farmer in shock for the IBF super featherweight title.

In the main co-event, Montana Love (16-0-1 8 KOs) and Carlos Diaz (29-1 14 KOs) compete in super lightweight. Also on the card Jessica McCaskill (10-2) makes the second defense of her undisputed welterweight title against (10-3, 3 KOs), and Filip Hrgovic (13-0 11 KOs) defends her IBF International Heavyweight title against Emir Ahmatovic (10-0, 7 KOs). In addition, Marc Castro (4-0, 4 KO) faces. Ronaldo Solis (4-2-1, 3 KOs) at the super featherweight. The full Haney vs Diaz fight card can be found below.


How to Watch Devin Haney vs. Joseph JoJo Diaz Live, Date & Time

Main card: Live on DAZN

  • United States: Sat Dec 4 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
  • United Kingdom: Sun 5 Dec at 1:00 a.m. GMT
  • Australia: Sun Dec 5 at 12 p.m. AEDT / 9 a.m. AWST

Undercard: live on FIGHTMAG

  • United States: Sat Dec 4 at 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT
  • United Kingdom: Sat 4 Dec at 9:30 p.m. GMT
  • Australia: Sun Dec 5 at 8:30 am AEDT / 5:30 am AWST

Devin Haney vs Joseph Diaz results

  • Devin Haney beat. Joseph Diaz via unanimous decision (116-112, 117-111, 117-111) – retains WBC lightweight title | Watch the highlights
  • Montana Amour def. Carlos Diaz by TKO (R3 at 1:22) | Watch stop
  • Jessica McCaskill defeated Kandi Wyatt by TKO (R7 at 0:19) – retains undisputed welterweight title | Watch stop
  • Filip Hrgovic beat. Emir Ahmatovic by TKO (three knockdowns, R3 at 0:40) – retains IBF International heavyweight title
  • Marc Castro beat. Ronaldo Solis by TKO (R2 at 0:43)
  • Austin Williams beat. Cash Quatavious by TKO (R2 at 0:22)
  • Alexis Espino v Rodolfo Gomez Jr – majority draw (77-75 Gomez, 76-76)
  • Amari Jones beat. Timothy Lee by TKO (R6 at 2:40)
  • Ricardo Rafael Sandoval beats. Carlos Buitrago by TKO (R7 at 0:46)

Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz Live Blog

To refresh the feed, click here.

12:43 AM ET / 4:43 PM AEDT

12:35 a.m.ET / 4:35 p.m. AEDT

Devin Haney makes the fourth successful defense of his WBC lightweight title. He remains undefeated with an updated record 27-0, 15 KOs.

Devin Haney retains WBC lightweight title
Devin Haney retains WBC lightweight title | Ed Mulholland / Boxing Matchroom

12:25 a.m.ET / 4:25 p.m. AEDT

Advertisement

The undisputed lightweight championship could be next.

12:18 a.m. ET / 4:18 p.m. AEDT

Devin Haney retains the WBC lightweight title by UD against JoJo Diaz.

Scores: 117-111, 117-111 and 116-112.

12:10 a.m. ET / 4:10 p.m. AEDT

11:44 p.m. ET / 3:44 p.m. AEDT

11:27 p.m. ET / 3:27 p.m. AEDT

11:20 p.m. ET / 3:20 p.m. AEDT

11:18 p.m. ET / 3:18 p.m. AEDT

It’s time.

Advertisement

10:57 p.m. ET / 2:57 p.m. AEDT

10:41 p.m. ET / 2:41 p.m. AEDT

Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz
Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

Main event. WBC lightweight champion Devin Haney defends his title against Joseph Diaz Jr.

10:39 p.m. ET / 2:39 p.m. AEDT

Montana Love dominates and stops Carlos Diaz in the third round.

10:06 p.m. ET / 2:06 p.m. AEDT

9:48 p.m. ET / 1:48 p.m. AEDT

The main co-event features Montana Love against Carlos Diaz in a ten round super lightweight.

Montana Love vs. Carlos Diaz
Montana Love vs. Carlos Diaz | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

9:46 p.m. ET / 1:46 p.m. AEDT

9:38 p.m. ET / 1:38 p.m. AEDT

9:02 p.m. ET / 1:02 p.m. AEDT

Next Step Jessica McCaskill defends her undisputed welterweight title against Kandi Wyatt. The latter fought at short notice to replace Victoria Bustos due to travel problems caused by COVID-19.

Jessica McCaskill vs. Kandi Wyatt
Jessica McCaskill vs. Kandi Wyatt | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

8:46 p.m. ET / 12:46 p.m. AEDT

8:49 p.m. ET / 12:49 p.m. AEDT

8:38 p.m. ET / 12:38 p.m. AEDT

Next step Filip Hrgovic defends his IBF International heavyweight title against Emir Ahmatovic. The fight is scheduled for ten rounds.

Filip Hrgovic vs. Emir Ahmatovic
Filip Hrgovic vs. Emir Ahmatovic | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

8:35 p.m. ET / 12:35 p.m. AEDT

Marc Castro dominates and stops Ronaldo Solis Round in 2.

8:25 p.m. ET / 12:25 p.m. AEDT

Castro vs Solis is happening now. The fight is scheduled for six rounds at the super featherweight.

Marc Castro ring road
Marc Castro ring road | Ed Mulholland / Boxing Matchroom

8:22 p.m. ET / 12:22 p.m. AEDT

Here is new Unified Lightweight Champion George Kambosos Jr speaking Devin Haney vs. JoJo Diaz.

8:09 p.m. ET / 12:09 p.m. AEDT

Haney vs Diaz main card live on DAZN.

7:56 p.m. ET / 11:56 a.m. AEDT

Filip Hrgovic gets his hands wrapped.

7:20 p.m. ET / 11:20 a.m. AEDT

Main card kick off Haney vs Diaz live on DAZN, Marc Castro and Ronaldo Solis face off in a six round super featherweight

Marc Castro vs. Ronaldo Solis
Marc Castro vs. Ronaldo Solis | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

7:17 p.m. ET / 11:17 a.m. AEDT

Austin Williams TKO Quatavious Cash in the second round. Check out the video of the stop below.

7:02 p.m. ET / 11:02 a.m. AEDT

Rounding Haney vs. Diaz undercard Austin Williams faces Quatavious Cash in an eight-round middleweight.

Austin Williams vs. Quatavious Cash
Austin Williams vs. Quatavious Cash | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

6:59 p.m. ET / 10:59 a.m. AEDT

Alexis Espino versus Rodolfo Gomez Jr runs a full distance and ends with a majority draw. One judge scored the fight 77-75 for Gomez, while two other judges scored 76-76.

Alexis Espino vs. Rodolfo Gomez Jr
Alexis Espino vs. Rodolfo Gomez Jr | Ed Mulholland / Boxing Matchroom

6:43 p.m. ET / 10:43 a.m. AEDT

6:14 p.m. ET / 10:14 a.m. AEDT

Next up, Alexis Espino will face Rodolfo Gomez Jr in an eight-round super middleweight.

Alexis Espino vs. Rodolfo Gomez Jr
Alexis Espino vs. Rodolfo Gomez Jr | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

6:01 p.m. ET / 10:01 a.m. AEDT

Amari Jones stops Timothy Lee with 2 minutes and 40 seconds of the sixth lap.

5:27 p.m. ET / 9:27 a.m. AEDT

Soon, Amari Jones will face Timothy Lee in a six-round game at middleweight.

Amari Jones vs. Timothy Lee
Amari Jones vs. Timothy Lee | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

5:23 p.m. ET / 9:23 a.m. AEDT

Ricardo Sandoval stops Carlos Buitrago in the seventh round. The fight was stopped by the referee 46 seconds into the seventh round.

Ricardo Sandoval vs. Carlos Buitrago
Ricardo Sandoval vs. Carlos Buitrago | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

5:04 p.m. ET / 9:04 a.m. AEDT

Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz Jr Tale of the Band.

Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz
Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz | DAZN

5:01 p.m. ET / 9:01 a.m. AEDT

This is what the MGM Grand looks like tonight.

MGM Grand
MGM Grand | Melina Pizano / Matchroom

4:38 p.m. ET / 8:38 a.m. AEDT

Promoter Eddie Hearn has just spoken of a potential undisputed lightweight title fight between new Unified lightweight champion Georges Kambosos Jr and WBC lightweight champion Devin Haney (subject to the outcome of the main event of this evening). The fight could take place in Sydney or Melbourne.

4:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. AEDT

First place Ricardo Sandoval faces Carlos Buitrago. The bout is scheduled for ten rounds at flyweight.

Ricardo Rafael Sandoval vs. Carlos Buitrago
Ricardo Rafael Sandoval vs. Carlos Buitrago | Ed Mulholland / Game Hall

3:53 p.m. ET / 7:53 a.m. AEDT

And that was the last showdown between Haney and Diaz at the official weigh-in ceremony held a day before the fight show.

3:27 p.m. ET / 7:27 a.m. AEDT

Haney vs Diaz live blog launch. Watch the video below as Haney and Diaz meet on the first day of Fight Week, which was also their first showdown.


Haney vs Diaz Fight Card

Full Devin Haney vs. JoJo Diaz the fight card looks like the following:

Main card

  • Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz, 12 rounds, lightweight – Haney’s WBC lightweight title
  • Montana Love vs. Carlos Diaz, 10 rounds, super lightweight
  • Jessica McCaskill vs. Kandi Wyatt, 10 round, welterweight – McCaskill’s undisputed welterweight title
  • Filip Hrgovic vs. Emir Ahmatovic, 10 rounds, heavyweight – Hrgovic’s IBF international heavyweight title
  • Marc Castro v Ronaldo Solis, 6 rounds, super featherweight

Sub-map

  • Austin Williams v Quatavious Cash, 8 rounds, middleweight
  • Alexis Espino v Rodolfo Gomez Jr, 8 rounds, super middleweight
  • Amari Jones v Timothy Lee, 6 round, middleweight
  • Ricardo Rafael Sandoval vs. Carlos Buitrago, 10 laps, flyweight

Advertisement


Source link